John Patterson

John Paterson
Professor of Earth Sciences
Palaeoscience Research Centre
School of Environmental & Rural Science
University of New England
Armidale, NSW 2351, Australia
Tel: +61-2-6773-2101

Vice Chair

Jessica Creveling

Jessica 'JC' Creveling
Associate Professor of Geology
College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Oregon State University
101 SW 26th Street, Corvallis, Oregon, USA 97331


Marissa J Bett

Marissa J Betts
Research Fellow in Earth Sciences
Palaeoscience Research Centre & Litholab (LLUNE)
School of Environmental & Rural Science
University of New England
Armidale, NSW 2351, Australia
Tel: +61-2-6773-1714


Michael Streng
Uppsala University
Department of Earth Sciences
Palaeobiology Programme
Villavägen 16
752 36 Uppsala, Sweden


The ICSC has 21 Voting Members, 11 Honorary Members, and 83 Corresponding Members. The ISCS’s voting members were selected to maintain a balance between regional experience and the expertise of various stratigraphic and paleontologic disciplines. Expertise is supplemented by corresponding members from individual countries or regions. Corresponding members are encouraged to communicate with ISCS working groups and the ISCS executive to actively participate in the development of a global stage-level chronostratigraphic classification of the Cambrian System.

Voting Members

Region Member Institute Email
Australia John Paterson (Chair) University of New England, Armidale
  Marissa Betts (Secretary) University of New England, Armidale
USA Jessica Creveling (Vice Chair) Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon
  Nigel Hughes University of California, Riverside, California
  Erik Sperling Stanford, Stanford, California
  Sarah Jacquet University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri
  Sara Pruss Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts
  Kristin Bergmann MIT, Massachusetts, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Canada Gabriela Mangano University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon
China Zhiliang Zhang Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, Nanjing
  Ben Yang Institute of Geology, Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences,
Korea Tae-Yoon S. Park Korea Polar Research Institute, Incheon
Sweden Graham Budd Uppsala University, Uppsala
  Timothy Topper Swedish Museum of Natural History, Stockholm
  Artem Kouchinsky Swedish Museum of Natural History, Stockholm
France Sebastien Clausen Université de Lille, Lille
Spain Samuel Zamora Instituto Geológico y Minero de España
  Soren Jensen Universidad de Extremadura
  Silvia Menendez Museo Geominero, Instituto Geológico y Minero
Denmark Arne Nielsen University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Argentina Franco Tortello Universidad Nacional de La Plata

Honorary Members

Dr. W. T. Chang
Nanjing Institute of Geolology and Palaeontology, Academia Sinica, Chi-Ming-Ssu, 39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, P. R. China. E-mail: wtchang[at]

Dr. Françoise Debrenne
Institut de Paléontologie, Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, 8 rue de Buffon, Paris, France. Phone (+33)-01-60-153251; Fax (+33)-1-40-793580. E-mail: debrenne[at]

Dr. William H. Fritz

Prof. Eladio Liñán
Departamento de Ciencias de la Tierra, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain

Dr. Allison R. Palmer
Institute for Cambrian Studies, 445 North Cedarbrook Rd., Boulder, CO 80304-0417, U.S.A. Fax (+1)-303-443-1375, E-mail: palmera[at]

Prof. Richard A. Robison
Department of Geology, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS 66045, U.S.A. E-mail: rrobisn[at]

Prof. Alexey Yu. Rozanov
Palaeontological Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, ul. Profsoyuznaya 123, Moscow 117647, Russia. E-mail: aroza[at]

Dr. A. W. A. Rushton
10 Elers Road, London W13 9QD, and Department of Palaeontology, The Natural History Museum, Cromwell Road, London SW7 5BD, UK.

Dr. S. K. Shah
P. G. Department Geol., University of Jammu, Jammu 18001, India.

Dr. John H. Shergold

Dr. Michael E. Taylor

† deceased